RSS Feed

Wait a minute…what about me?

Over the summer, I’ve been working on a bunch of changes to my business. A new website (which officially launched this week! Check it out at http://www.appetitesforlife.com), new programs, new logo, business cards, and the planning of a women’s retreat this October. Just typing it all makes me tired.  But I love what I do, and if all I do helps one person feel better, it is all worth it.

With all the hustle and bustle, on top of being a mom of two young girls and a house keeper, I often times I hear my body crying, “wait a minute…what about me?”  See, even as a health coach, sometimes it is hard to practice what I preach. Sometimes it is hard to not cut a corner here and there (take out for dinner, letting the dishes sit in the sink, closing the playroom door and walking away from the gigantic mess).  Sometimes, just sometimes, I am just too tired. I am sure you understand.  That is why I dedicate my career to helping women reclaim their energy. Because a lot of moms, like myself, have the amazing ability to juggle a thousand things at a time (while chewing gum, braiding hair and making grocery lists in your head).  But that isn’t always a good thing. And we need support.

A major part of reclaiming your energy is surrendering to your body. Sometimes, instead of pushing through and trying to get it

Be still my soul be still

A major part of reclaiming your energy is surrendering to your body.

all done, it is better to just STOP. AND. BE.STILL.  One of my favorite songs by Kari Jobe says “Be still my soul be still.”  As I play that song, I am reminded that is OKAY to stop everything I am doing, and just BE STILL.  Our bodies need attention too. Heck, they are answering our mental, emotional, and physical demands 24/7.  It’s necessary to give your body a break. Listen to when it quietly says “wait a minute…what about me?” if you don’t, the voice will get louder, and then shout in pain, exhaustion, and finally disease. You don’t want to wait that long to respond.

What are some ways to take care of your body?  Well, if you find your mind racing too fast with a laundry list of things that need to get done (including the many loads of laundry!), it is time to still your mind and meditate, pray or just sit and listen to your favorite music.  If you notice your body is tight, painful or achy, it is time to be still and rest.  If you notice your stomach is not receiving food well causing bloat, belching, gas and reflux, it is time to take a look at your diet, and make necessary changes.

Your job needs attention. Your children need attention. Your house needs attention.  SO DOES YOUR BODY.

Take my advice (and I will try to as well!). Take things one at a time. Nothing is that urgent it cannot wait an hour or a day (except of course picking the kids up from school on time!).  My new website was planned for August – I launched it this week – a month later than planned. It’s okay. Everything worked out. In the meantime, I took moments to show my body I cared.

Leave a Reply

